monkeylesno.blogg.se

X men ravages of apocalypse
X men ravages of apocalypse









Instead, I cling onto the game it always was in my head: a world-class shooter in which I could choose which X-Man (or Woman) I wanted to play as, with the ability to deploy their merry mutant powers at will, and amazing boss fights against Apocalypse, Mr Sinister, Magneto and all the rest. Extraordinary to think about now, that Marvel would give the endless murder of Wolverine, Rogue, Cyclops, Storm at al the greenlight like this. I do not want to play a grindy mod with lousy level design that involves repeatedly shooting Quake monsters reskinned as evil clones of the X-Men. I ignore them, just as I ignore the game itself, and the fact that I could very easily go and play it if I so wished. I have heard few good things about Ravages Of Apocalypse in the years since. Hell, looking at screenshots today, it does a remarkably good job of capturing the essence of the 90s Blue and Gold teams with the crudest of 3D - this perhaps speaks to the punchiness of those costume designs (as embarrassingly 90s as they may be) as much as it does to what, I've realised over the time, is the sheer charisma of the Quake engine. The rear of which showed various X-Men rendered in blocky, 3D Quake-o-vision, which at the time seemed like a god-damned miracle. So, no full Quake, therefore no Ravages Of Apocalypse, therefore only the box. In other words, they weren't anything like as fussy when it came to licensing. Comics sales were strong at the time, but this was decades before Marvel became the mixed-media titan it is now. XROA was a Quake total conversion, you see, but sold at retail and, improbable as it might sound now, with the blessing of Marvel Comics. I could not play it because I did not have a licensed copy of Quake - only the shareware version. In fact, I have never played X-Men: Ravages Of Apocalypse, and because of that it still remains, in my mind, The Greatest Videogame There Ever Was.

x men ravages of apocalypse x men ravages of apocalypse

Yet I could not play X-Men: Ravages Of Apocalypse. An X-Men FPS was beyond my wildest imaginings. It was the 90s, I read X-Men comics and watched the X-Men Saturday morning cartoon and there was a PC in my house. I went to the games shop and stared at the box several times a week for the best part of a year.

x men ravages of apocalypse

One a day, every day, perhaps for all time. Have You Played? is an endless stream of game retrospectives.











X men ravages of apocalypse